The Conversation Guy

musings from a guy who likes to work any crowd

The First Conversation

with 2 comments

So, today, I did what I often do…had coffee with someone just to chat, catch up, and see if I could maybe learn something. Little did I know it would result in this new blog, and my new identity as the “conversation guy.”

My conversation with Tony Woodlief at an Arlington, VA Starbucks over a Pumpkin Spice Latte (me) and a Hot Chocolate (Tony), included multiple topics such as faith, politics, work, and life. Part of the conversation involved me trying to explain a single thread of what I am passionate about through all areas of my life… and it is you – people that is. Ever since I was a kid, I always loved talking to people, and not just people I know – the cashier at the grocery store, the taxi cab driver, or the random person next to me on the plane. Now, whether it is at work, at church, or at a random networking event… I get energy from interacting with people, and would like to think I occasionally encourage others.

We can learn so much about life by talking to others. So, I am setting out on a journey – to talk to people in various situations, going far beyond the places I currently go, to see what people think…which, may in turn, change the way you and I think about things. I promise that I’ll provide a perspective different than any DC newspaper could – and that I’ll do my best to keep the posts short and interesting.

And if you want to learn more about the hot chocolate drinking Tony Woodlief who helped inspire my new identity, you can check out his blog at http://www.tonywoodlief.com.

If there’s a specific topic or question you would like to hear how different people would respond to, please email theconversationguy@gmail.com.

Please check back often to stay part of the conversation.

– The Conversation Guy

Written by theconversationguy

October 15, 2009 at 12:08 am

Posted in Cafe Chats

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tony is one of my favorite bloggers – so, when he suggested (well, more than suggest) that I look you up – I gladly did so. I, too, love to talk to strangers. I love to hear peoples’ stories. Look forward to hearing yours.

    Jennifer

    October 18, 2009 at 11:15 pm

  2. Came here from Tony’s blog also. So this will be an interesting perspective. I generally plug in the iPod and don’t talk to strangers – subway, planes, wherever. Good luck with it, and I’ll be following your blog – can’t wait to see what happens when the extrovert meets an introvert.

    Silent Reader

    October 20, 2009 at 7:25 pm


Leave a Reply

